Muscle building breakfast

Posted: September 19, 2012 in Recipes

Muscle Food – High Protein Breakfast

A healthy balanced breakfast is really important when trying to build muscle.

I often get asked what I eat for breakfast as part of a healthy muscle building diet. Well I try to eat something slightly different each day just to avoid getting bored of eating the same thing all the time. However, I always try to stick to a few simple rules when it comes to breakfast. These rules are:

1)      Must contain protein to help build muscle

2)      Must contain complex carbohydrates to provide energy

3)      Must contain some essential fats to provide energy and help body function normally

Before I carry on, I know some of you might be shocked at the idea of consuming fat but you needn’t worry. The fat I’m talking about here is the good kind that your body needs. The link below provides an easy to understand explanation of why fats are important to building muscle.

http://www.muscleandstrength.com/articles/the-role-of-essential-fats-in-bodybuilding.html

Anyway here is a sample of one of the breakfasts I often have. I normally choose this meal if I don’t have time to cook something like an omelette which I prefer!

Porridge, Boiled eggs, blackberries, banana, Orange juice and cond liver oil / flaxseed oil

1)      50 grams of porridge oats with 300ml skimmed or semi skimmed milk. Cook in the microwave for 2 – 4 minutes depending on your microwave.  Add some sliced banana in for sweetness.  This will provide the complex carbohydrates and provide you with energy slowly during the day.

2)      3 whole boiled eggs.  The whole egg is packed full of nutrition is a great sources of protein and vitamins. Each egg contains about 6 – 7 grams of protein depending on the size. Half of the protein is contained within the yolk.

3)      Handful of blackberries. These taste great and are a great antioxidant

4)      Glass of pure orange juice with no added sugar. Great source of vitamin C

5)      Teaspoon of flaxseed oil or cod liver oil. Provides essential fats to help body function

The meal above provides approximately 30 grams protein and 40 grams carbohydrates. On days that I’m going to working out I normally increase the porridge oats to 100 grams to increase the calories.  You’ve probably guessed by now that I’m by no means an expert on nutrition and nor can I explain in detail all the scientific facts for the food I eat. But I do know that it works for me. So feel free to give this easy to prepare breakfast a try.  I’ll get some details of the more interesting recipes up soon!

Leave a Reply

